This website is owned and operated by a private company - - Free Grant Money, Free Housing Grants, Free Personal Grants

FY 2012 Disaster Relief Opportunity

Post Date

March 28th 2012

Application Due Date

March 27th 2015

Applications are accepted on a continuing basis and processed as received.

Funding Opportunity Number


CFDA Number(s)


Funding Instrument Type(s)

Cooperative Agreement

Funding Activity Categories

Disaster Prevention and Relief

EDA announces general policies and application procedures for this Disaster Relief Opportunity. Subject to the availability of funds, this investment assistance will help communities and regions devise and implement long-term economic redevelopment strategies through a variety of construction and non construction projects, as appropriate, to address economic development challenges in regions impacted by a major Federally declared disaster that was designated between October 1, 2010 and September 30, 2011. Please read the FY 12 Disaster Relief Federal Funding Opportunity (FFO) carefully for all of EDAуs eligibility and program requirements under this announcement. The FFO is provided as an attachment to this synopsis and a link to the FFO is provided below.

Eligibility Categories

State Governments
County Governments
City or Township Governments
Public and State Controlled Institutions of Higher Education
Federally Recognized Native American Tribal Governments
Non-Profits With 501 (c) (3) Status With The IRS (Except Higher Education Institutions)
Non-Profits Without 501 (c) (3) Status With The IRS (Except Higher Education Institutions)
Private Institutions of Higher Education

Pursuant to the Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1965 (PWEDA), an eligible applicant for and eligible recipient of EDA investment assistance under this announcement include a(n): (1) District Organization; (2) Indian Tribe or a consortium of Indian Tribes; (3) State, city or other political subdivision of a State, including a special purpose unit of a State or local government engaged in economic or infrastructure development activities, or a consortium of political subdivisions; (4) institution of higher education or a consortium of institutions of higher education; or (5) public or private non-profit organization or association acting in cooperation with officials of a political subdivision of a State. See section 3 of PWEDA (42 U.S.C. _ 3122) and 13 C.F.R. _ 300.3. EDA is not authorized to provide grants to individuals or to for-profit entities seeking to start or expand a private business. Such requests may be referred to State or local agencies, or to non profit economic development organizations.


  • Estimated Total Funding:


  • Award Range:

    $None - $None

Grant Description

Through this Disaster Relief Opportunity, EDA intends to award investments in regions experiencing severe economic distress as a result of natural disasters that were declared as major Federal disasters between October 1, 2010 and September 30, 2011. Under this announcement, EDA solicits applications for Economic Adjustment Assistance (EAA) investments under PWEDA. The EAA program provides recipients with flexible tools to develop and implement regionally based long term economic development strategies in response to major Federally declared disasters. The EAA program provides a wide range of technical, disaster recovery, economic recovery planning, and public works assistance. It responds adaptively to pressing economic recovery issues and is well-suited to help address challenges faced by regions affected by natural disasters. Through this program, EDA can support the development of disaster recovery strategies and recovery implementation, including infrastructure improvements and by using revolving loan funds (RLFs). EDA recognizes that urgent infrastructure rebuilding needs exist throughout disaster impacted regions. In EDAуs experience with post disaster recovery, the most effective long-term rebuilding efforts are based on long-term development or redevelopment strategies. For this reason, EDA encourages the submission of applications based on long-term, regionally oriented and collaborative economic development or redevelopment strategies that foster economic growth and resiliency. EDA will regard applications that are substantively supported by such strategies as more competitive, while applications for rebuilding damaged infrastructure that are not demonstrably supported by a long-term plan for economic growth and resilience will not be considered competitive. To be competitive, applications must clearly incorporate principles for enhancing the resiliency (as defined in section I.C. of the FY 12 Disaster Relief FFO) of the relevant community/region or demonstrate the integration of resiliency principles into the investment itself. The incorporation of disaster resiliency is an essential aspect of mitigating the potential for future losses and adverse economic impacts for communities. The inclusion of resiliency principles in the project is a necessary step to improve the capacity of the region to recover more quickly in the future. In addition, applicants must demonstrate a clear nexus between their proposed project scope of work and disaster recovery and resiliency efforts. The strength of the nexus to the disaster is drawn from the consequences of the disaster(s) that made the community eligible and the intended project outcomes. As noted above, please read the FY 12 Disaster Relief FFO carefully for all of EDAуs eligibility and program requirements under this announcement. The FFO is provided as an attachment to this synopsis and a link to the FFO is provided below.

Contact Information

  • Agency

    Department of Commerce

  • Office:

    Economic Development Administration

  • Agency Contact:

    Josh Barnes

  • Agency Mailing Address:

  • Agency Email Address:

  • More Information:

    FY 12 Disaster Relief FFO

Grant checklist

Get A Free Grant Assistance KitRed triangle

To start your application for a free grant package go to:

Apply For Government Grant